The long chain of linked accounts

So Tech-Ed Europe posted on Facebook about their new conference app. That seemed interesting and I of course had to try it out, and so downloaded the app for IOS (seems it is available on Surface as well, that would be one of the few I’ve found that I might use, but I won’t drag the Surface with me with only that one app, anyway enough about that…).

And login failed… ? And I had to read the manual… 🙂 And discovered that I needed an EventBoard account, which could be linked to my Channel9 account, which I believe I created just to be able to create the Tech-Ed schedule, and was linked to my MSDN account which was linked to my Windows Live account, which in turn is linked to my company account.

In theory all this works well, even though I now have 5 different accounts (or maybe MSDN is just a profile, so 4 then ?), with 4 (or 5 ?) different passwords, (and some people wonder why I think the absence of a working Metro-release of Password Safe is bothering me), and all of this just to be able to attend a conference, know the schedule for the sessions I plan to attend, and have those show up in the conference app. Not the smoothest way to go, but as the linking is quite seamless once in place it’s fair enough.

Except that it doesn’t work! Since the schedule only shows up in the PC webbrowser and does not show up in the app…

Leave a Reply

