Webbrowser homepage changes

Yesterday I was notified by Avast there was an (“critical”, or just “important”, I don’t recall?) upgrade to Skype available and whether I wanted to install it. The installation didn’t work, so I initiated it directly from within Skype instead which worked well.

During the installation Skype tries to change my webbrowsers homepage to MSN, I’m quite certain that I want to keep my personal homepage thank you…

After installation nothing more happened, until today, when starting the computer I was met by an alert from Avast that I was running an unsafe plugin, Skype, with poor reputation, and whether I wanted to remove it.

That sounded fine with me since I don’t use the web plugin anyway, but when asked by Avast that if I wanted to remove the plugin I also needed to change my webbrowser homepage I opted out and disabled the plugin by myself.

Sometimes all these popups are just too much! And I’m still spending way too much time accepting upgrades and fixing failing upgrades…

Leave a Reply

