NoScript block for Handelsbanken BankID

I had a repeat this weekend of the same issue as last week, that it worked perfectly fine to sign in to my bank, Handelsbanken, using mobile BankID, but approving new payments or transfers did not work, the site would just lock up and not process the approval for the payment.

After some help from Handelsbanken tech support we narrowed it down to the plugins in Firefox, and with some additional testing I found out it’s NoScript (again) which is this time blocking the payment approvals. Previously it has been blocking my internal sites on http://192.168.x.x local subnet, and blocking referrals to Google Fonts, to name the most recent.

I’m not yet sure what I will do here, I don’t want to remove NoScript, but on the other hand it is getting somewhat random what works from day to day, and when it gets to nitty gritty details such as BankID-login working but BankID-signing not working it becomes rather difficult to keep the program without adding a secondary browser for entirely trusted sites, such as banks.

This last option is incidentally suggested by Avast every time I login, to use their SafeZone browser, but I’m not sure why it needs to open 12 parallell processes each time I try to login, so I’m not yet ready to switch to it.

And switching to IE, as suggested by tech support, does work, but the point of using Firefox with NoScript was to make things more secure. NoScript description states that

“It allows JavaScript, Java and other executable content to run only from trusted domains of your choice, e.g. your home-banking site…”

However, things keep getting broken and fixes breaks new things. If I could get to a stable version I could try to disable automatic updates entirely for it. But so far there’s no stable version in sight. Maybe I should try Edge?

Leave a Reply

