New theme, Affinity

I’ve switched to the Affinity theme on my public blog, to see whether it’s usable and I should switch on the others. I’m actually quite fond of my current theme, Minnow, but I’d like to find a similar theme with a little more page width.

In that regard the Material theme is great but it has a problem in that it does not support automatic language detection. Maybe there’s some way to provide language files, I haven’t checked yet, but that’s definitely a large disqualifying minus in my eyes. And Material also has a minus in not supporting the Collapsing Archives plugin. Using the regular full archive widget provides a very long list for a blog with posts dating all back to 1998…

By the way, the default images in Affinity are amazing, I wish I could take pictures like the one of the forest. I do have a few I’m quite proud of but this one was really nice.

Besides that, I noticed that WordPress had auto-updated to the most recent version 4.7.2 on all my sites. And there are new versions of iOS 10.2.1 and more. In fact, updates are becoming so frequent that I don’t have the time to catch up with them all, so it’s lucky the stability has also improved so much that I can rely on auto-updates for most devices.

Leave a Reply

