Upgrading Plex Media Server

Today I made a new attempt to upgrade my Plex Media Server on my QNAP to the most recent version available in the QNAP appstore.

From an initial quick check most things seems to have worked better this time, compared to what went wrong the last time.

  • New version prompt is still there, but it’s a minor annoyance only. (And I won’t try the available direct manual download just yet, but stick with the officially available version from QNAP).
  • The unclaimed server prompt still pops up every now and then, also somewhat annoying, still nothing major.
  • I’m not yet used to the new menus, and the front page is in English despite settings being set to Swedish, while the rest of the menus seems to be Swedish. I can’t quite put my finger on it but something feels like missing in the settings menus, but since I can’t spot it right away I’ll assume it’s no problem, for now.
  • Lastly, what broke it last time was that Media Libraries seems corrupt or content missing, no trace of this in this upgrade, so hopefully everything should be fine.

There was a small new surprise in that when trying to change the title of “Recently added movies” to Swedish, this did not change, but also (and instead) added a conversion task of all recent items, which I have no use for and needed to cancel.

It’s also annoying the settings menu can’t be hidden from the left side navigation bar, since it’s anyway present in top right menu, and in navigation bar it shows an error for not being logged in. I wish I could at least disable the warning, if not the entire menu from showing up in navigation.

But all things considered, it feels like the glitches are minor and I can live with them, which is quite nice since I’ll then be past the 1.x version, going from version 0.9.12.18 to version 1.3.4.3285 in one single upgrade. A version jump of 6 major releases and an uncounted minor versions.

I’ll try this on for a few days before claiming it a success though.

One thought on “Upgrading Plex Media Server

Leave a Reply

