Updating Plex Media Server again

About one month ago I took the giant leap to the then most recent version of Plex, after running an ancient pre-1.x-version for years, so an upgrade now after only about one month feels really rushed.

But the fixlist seemed worth it, in particular fixes concerning performance and network where I’ve been seeing some glitches after last upgrade. Nothing major, or big enough to require a rollback, but sometimes annoying, so I’m hoping for this being better now, and at least from first glance on the webpage it loads considerably faster now, but I’ll reserve some final judgements until I’ve had some time to watch any movie.

Apart from faster performance on the web I also notice the background is lighter, I liked the old dark background very much but this one is not bad at all actually. I can like this.

What I don’t like so far, and still, is that I can’t disable warnings or alerts in the settings menu for this being a private server and not reachable from internet. It’s supposed to be, it has nothing to do on the internet, could I please turn the alert off? And also at the same time the alert for a new version being available for manual installation, I don’t want that either since I quite prefer to wait for the versions to become available via QNAP appstore, so I can be certain they’re tested by QNAP, for my device hardware.

And there are some missing translations as well for the Swedish localisation.

But if those are the only glitches they’re really no problem and hopefully this will be a great update. New version is 1.5.3.3580.

 

Leave a Reply

