Leaving Windows 3.1

Today is a great day, I’ve finally completed migrating all my years of calendar entries in the archaic “Calendar.exe” format. (For the moment only over to simple textfiles, but later they’re going into the personal diary-blog).

Reading all these old entries while copying them by hand brings back so many memories, sometimes from happier times, sometimes not.

However, from a more technical perspective this means not only will I finally be finished with Windows 3.1 emulation, I can also leave Windows XP mode (which was the only way to run calendar.exe), and thereby I can also in turn leave Windows 7, which I used for running the XP-machine. Not bad.

(Except I should have done this a long time ago, so it hadn’t prevented me from upgrading my only Windows 7 Ultimate to Windows 10 while upgrades still were free).

And for my next challenge I believe I’ll be trying to find a way of migrating calendars from Lotus Organizer over to something readable on my current platforms.

One thought on “Leaving Windows 3.1

Leave a Reply

